Irish trained runners dominate betting as 30 entries revealed for Cheltenham Gold Cup

Dual Gold Cup winner Al Boum Photo features prominently amongst the entries for this year’s race. (Pic: Courtesy of Cheltenham Racecourse).

Horse Talk with Simon Jackson:

Top horse-racing tips and the latest news.

IRISH-trained runners including recent King George VI Chase winner Tornado Flyer dominate the betting as 30 entries were revealed for the 2022 Cheltenham Gold Cup on March 18.

Memories remain fresh of Ireland’s rout at the 2021 Festival where trainers from across the Irish sea won 23 of the 28 races including Henry de Bromhead’s high-profile hat-trick of victories in the Champion Hurdle, Queen Mother Champion Chase and Gold Cup.

Henry de Bromhead’s A Plus Tard was beaten a short head by the Gordon Elliott-trained Galvin in the Grade 1 Savills Chase at Leopardstown on December 28 and still heads the betting for the Gold Cup at 7-2 (Paddy Power) from Galvin (5-1 William Hill).

The first five in the betting are trained in Ireland. Last year’s winner, the de Bromhead-trained Minella Indo, was eased to third in the market at 8-1 after being pulled up in the King George VI Chase at Kempton Park on Boxing Day.

Next is the Willie Mullins-trained dual Gold Cup winner, Al Boum Photo, who was third last year when bidding to become the first horse since Best Mate to win three successive Gold Cups. He is best-priced at 10-1. Stablemate and King George hero Tornado Flyer is next at 14-1.

3:30 pm Cheltenham Gold Cup Chase (Grade 1) 3m 2f 70y – Friday 18th March

A Plus Tard (FR) 8 Cheveley Park Stud Henry de Bromhead IRE

Ahoy Senor (IRE) 7 Mrs C Wymer & Mr PJS Russell Lucinda Russell

Al Boum Photo (FR) 10 Mrs J. Donnelly Willie Mullins IRE

Allaho (FR) 8 Cheveley Park Stud Willie Mullins IRE

Angels Breath (IRE) 8 Walters Plant Hire & Ronnie Bartlett Nicky Henderson

Asterion Forlonge (FR) 8 Mrs J. Donnelly Willie Mullins IRE

Aye Right (IRE) 9 Geoff and Elspeth Adam Harriet Graham

Carefully Selected (IRE) 10 Miss M. A. Masterson Willie Mullins IRE

Champ (IRE) 10 Mr John P. McManus Nicky Henderson

Chantry House (IRE) 8 Mr John P. McManus Nicky Henderson

Chatham Street Lad (IRE) 10 Mr V. Healy Michael Winters IRE

Conflated (IRE) 8 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE

Delta Work (FR) 9 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE

Eklat de Rire (FR) 8 Mr P. Davies Henry de Bromhead IRE

Fiddlerontheroof (IRE) 8 Taylor, Burley & O’Dwyer Colin Tizzard

Franco de Port (FR) 7 Bruton Street V Willie Mullins IRE

Galvin (IRE) 8 Mr R. A. Bartlett Gordon Elliott IRE

Imperial Aura (IRE) 9 Imperial Racing Partnership 2016 Kim Bailey

Lostintranslation (IRE) 10 Taylor & O’Dwyer Colin Tizzard

Melon 10 Mrs J. Donnelly Willie Mullins IRE

Minella Indo (IRE) 9 Mr Barry Maloney Henry de Bromhead IRE

Mister Fisher (IRE) 8 James & Jean Potter Ltd Nicky Henderson

Mount Ida (IRE) 8 KTDA Racing Gordon Elliott IRE

Protektorat (FR) 7 Sir A Ferguson G Mason J Hales & L bHales Dan Skelton

Remastered 9 Brocade Racing David Pipe

Royale Pagaille (FR) 8 Mrs S. Ricci Venetia Williams

Run Wild Fred (IRE) 8 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE

Saint Calvados (FR) 9 Kate & Andrew Brooks Paul Nicholls

Santini 10 Mr & Mrs R. Kelvin-Hughes Polly Gundry

Tornado Flyer (IRE) 9 T. F. P. Willie Mullins IRE

30 entries

16 Irish-trained

Read ‘Horse Talk with Simon Jackson’ for top horse racing tips and the latest news.