Randox Grand National 2023 weights

Horse Talk with Simon Jackson:

Top horse racing tips and the latest news. 

Runners jump The Chair in the Grand National. (Pic: racingfotos.com courtesy of Aintree Racecourse).

NOBLE Yeats has been allotted 11st 11lbs for the Randox Grand National at Aintree on April 15, 19lbs more than he carried when winning the world’s greatest steeplechase last year.

Noble Yeats finished two and a quarter-lengths ahead of Any Second Now who is up 4lbs from last year, heading the weights at 11st 12lb alongside Conflated and Hewick.

Noble Yeats was a shock 50-1 winner in 2022 and this year heads the betting at 10-1 to secure back-to-back victories in the unique £1million contest that comprises 30 fences in the four miles, two furlongs and 74 yards contest.

The final field of 40 runners and riders will be revealed after final declarations on April 13.

Randox Grand National Handicap Chase

Four miles, two furlongs and 74 yards

Aintree April 15


(Name / Age / Weight / Owner / Trainer)

1 Any Second Now (IRE) 11-11-12 Mr JP McManus Ted Walsh IRE
2 Conflated (IRE) 9-11-12  Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
3 Hewick (IRE) 8-11-12 Mr TJ Mcdonald John Hanlon IRE
4 Galvin (IRE) 9-11-11 Mr RA Bartlett Gordon Elliott IRE
5 Noble Yeats (IRE) 8-11-11 Mr Robert Waley-Cohen Emmet Mullins IRE
6 Envoi Allen (FR) 9-11-8 Cheveley Park Stud Henry de Bromhead IRE
7 Royale Pagaille (FR) 9-11-8 Mrs S. Ricci Venetia Williams
8 Fury Road (IRE) 9-11-6 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
9 Capodanno (FR) 7-11-5 Mr JP McManus Willie Mullins IRE
10 The Big Dog (IRE) 10-11-5 Damien J Kelly/Colin Kelly Peter Fahey IRE
11 Delta Work (FR) 10-11-4 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
12 Sam Brown (GB) 11-11-4 Mr TC Frost Anthony Honeyball
13 Franco de Port (FR) 8-11-3 Bruton Street V Willie Mullins IRE
14 Lifetime Ambition (IRE) 8-11-3 Linda Mulcahy/Mary Wolridge Jessica Harrington IRE
15 Carefully Selected (IRE) 11-11-1 Miss MA Masterson Willie Mullins IRE
16 Chris’s Dream (IRE) 11-11-0 Robcour Henry de Bromhead IRE
17 Coko Beach (FR) 8-11-0 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
18 Gaillard du Mesnil (FR) 7-11-0 Mrs J Donnelly Willie Mullins IRE
19 Longhouse Poet (IRE) 9-11-0 Sean & Bernardine Mulryan Martin Brassil IRE
*20 Minella Times (IRE) 10-11-0 Mr JP McManus Henry de Bromhead IRE
21 Darasso (FR) 10-10-13 Mr JP McManus Joseph O’Brien IRE
22 Burrows Saint (FR) 10-10-12 Mrs S Ricci Willie Mullins IRE
23 Pencilfulloflead (IRE) 9-10-12 Robcour Gordon Elliott IRE
24 Ga Law (FR) 7-10-11 The Footie Partnership Jamie Snowden
25 Happygolucky (IRE) 9-10-11 Lady Dulverton Kim Bailey
26 Le Milos (GB) 8-10-11 The Jolly Good Partnership Dan Skelton
27 Quick Wave (FR) 10-10-11 Ms Sharon Kinsella Venetia Williams
28 The Shunter (IRE) 10-10-11 Mr JP McManus Emmet Mullins IRE
29 Escaria Ten (FR) 9-10-10 McNeill Family Gordon Elliott IRE
30 Farclas (FR) 9-10-10 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
31 Remastered (GB) 10-10-10 Brocade Racing David Pipe
32 The Big Breakaway (IRE) 8-10-10 Eric Jones, Geoff Nicholas, John Romans Joe Tizzard
33 Threeunderthrufive (IRE) 8-10-9 McNeill Family Paul Nicholls
34 Cape Gentleman (IRE) 7-10-8 Mr Pierre Manigault John Hanlon IRE
35 Cilaos Emery (FR) 11-10-8 The Has Been’s Sophie Leech
36 Diol Ker (FR) 9-10-8 Gigginstown House Stud Noel Meade IRE
37 Roi Mage (FR) 11-10-8 Pryde/Van Der Hoeven/McGladery/Beaumont Patrick Griffin IRE
38 A Wave of The Sea (IRE) 7-10-6 Mr JP McManus Joseph O’Brien IRE
39 Minella Trump (IRE) 9-10-6 Mr TG Leslie Donald McCain
40 Vanillier (FR) 8-10-6 Mrs HM Keaveney Gavin Cromwell IRE
41 Velvet Elvis (IRE) 7-10-6 Mr D Kierans Tom Gibney IRE
42 Ain’t That A Shame (IRE) 9-10-5 Robcour Henry de Bromhead IRE
43 Corach Rambler (IRE) 9-10-5 The Ramblers Lucinda Russell
44 Enjoy d’Allen (FR) 9-10-5 Mr JP McManus Ciaran Murphy IRE
45 Lord Lariat (IRE) 8-10-5 P Blake/Patrick John Casey Dermot McLoughlin IRE
46 Ash Tree Meadow (FR) 7-10-4 Alymer Stud Ltd Gordon Elliott IRE
47 Battleoverdoyen (IRE) 10-10-4 Pioneer Racing Gordon Elliott IRE
48 Cloudy Glen (IRE) 10-10-4 Exors of the late Mr Trevor Hemmings Venetia Williams
49 Gin On Lime (FR) 7-10-4 Robcour Henry de Bromhead IRE
50 Mister Coffey (FR) 8-10-4 Lady Bamford & Alice Bamford Nicky Henderson
51 Mr Incredible (IRE) 7-10-4 Mr P Byrne Willie Mullins IRE
52 Ashtown Lad (IRE) 9-10-3 Darren & Annaley Yates Dan Skelton
53 Gabbys Cross (IRE) 8-10-2 Mr RS Brookhouse Henry de Bromhead IRE
54 Hill Sixteen (GB) 10-10-2 J Fyffe & S Townshend Sandy Thomson
55 Eva’s Oskar (IRE) 9-10-1 1Sally & Richard Prince Tim Vaughan
56 Rapper (GB) 9-10-1 The Home Farm Partnership Henry Daly
57 Recite A Prayer (IRE) 8-10-1 The Turner Family Willie Mullins IRE
58 Death Duty (IRE) 12-10-0 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
59 Dunboyne (IRE) 8-10-0 SP O’Connor Gordon Elliott IRE
60 Francky du Berlais (FR) 10-10-0 Mr Roddy Owen Peter Bowen
61 Frontal Assault (IRE) 8-10-0 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
62 Our Power (IRE) 8-10-0 Walters Plant Hire & Potter Group Sam Thomas
63 Sporting John (IRE) 8-10-0 Mr JP McManus Philip Hobbs
64 Back On The Lash (GB) 9-9-13 Maughan, Redknapp, Ryan, Salters Martin Keighley
65 Fortescue (GB) 9-9-13 Mrs L Nixon Henry Daly
66 Defi Bleu (FR) 10-9-12 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
67 Born By The Sea (IRE) 9-9-10 Natalie Gilligan Paul Gilligan IRE
68 Gevrey (FR) 7-9-10 Denis Gallagher Racing Gordon Elliott IRE
69 Milan Native (IRE) 10-9-10 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
70 Punitive (IRE) 9-9-10 Pioneer Racing Gordon Elliott IRE
71 Captain Kangaroo (IRE) 8-9-8 Kanga Racing & Brett Graham Syndicate Willie Mullins IRE
72 Darrens Hope (IRE) 9-9-8 Robert Murphy Robert Murphy IRE
73 Fakiera (FR) 8-9-8 Mr T O’Driscoll Gordon Elliott IRE
74 Mortal (IRE) 11-9-8 Mr A Dunlop Gordon Elliott IRE
75 Captain Cattistock (GB) 10-9-5 Mr Nic Brereton Fergal O’Brien
76 Fantastikas (FR) 8-9-5 Imperial Racing Partnership 2016 Nigel Twiston-Davies
77 Secret Reprieve (IRE) 9-9-5 Mr & Mrs William Rucker Evan Williams
78 Glamorgan Duke (IRE) 10-9-1 Natalie Gilligan Paul Gilligan IRE

SCRATCHED: Fiddlerontheroof (IRE), Grumpy Charley (GB), Iwilldoit (GB), Riders Onthe Storm (IRE). NOT QUALIFIED: Chemical Energy (IRE), Nearly Perfect (GB), Minella Crooner (IRE). RETIRED: Minella Times*

78 entries (52 Irish-trained)

Read ‘Horse Talk with Simon Jackson’ for top horse racing tips and the latest news.