Grand National 2023: Corach Rambler favourite for Grand National as final field of 40 runners confirmed

The start time for the 2023 Grand National is 5.15pm on Saturday. (Pic: Courtesy of Aintree).

Horse Talk with Simon Jackson:

Top horse-racing tips and the latest news.

TRAINER Lucinda Russell and jockey Derek Fox won the Grand National with One For Arthur in 2017 and look set to team up again with this year’s favourite Corach Ramber.

Fox’s participation in Aintree’s blue riband event was in doubt when the Grand National and Cheltenham Festival-winning jockey experienced a late injury scare when suffering an injured shoulder from a fall at Wetherby last week.

Corach Rambler cemented his claims as a leading contender for the National when securing a second successive win in the Ultima Chase at this year’s Cheltenham Festival and heads the betting for the Randox Grand National at 13-2.

The victory continued the successful association between horse and jockey with Fox having ridden the nine-year-old in all of his 12 starts under rules, winning six times.

“Derek’s fine,” Russell said on Wednesday. “He’s been to the gym and done loads of exercises and I think he’s very pleased. He’s feeling a lot brighter and more confident than he was the other day.

“I think he’ll pass the doctor and he’s going to be declared on Corach Rambler. We’re very tight as a team so it will be great to have Derek on,” the trainer told the Racing Post.

Randox Grand National Handicap Chase

Four miles, two furlongs and 74 yards

Aintree April 15


1 Any Second Now (IRE) 11-11-12 167 Mr JP McManus Ted Walsh IRE Mark Walsh
2 Noble Yeats (IRE) 8-11-11 166 Mr Robert Waley-Cohen Emmet Mullins IRE Sean Bowen
3 Galvin (IRE) 9-11-11 166 Mr RA Bartlett Gordon Elliott IRE Davy Russell
4 Fury Road (IRE) 9-11-6 161 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE Jonjo O’Neill Jnr
5 The Big Dog (IRE) 10-11-5 160 Damien J Kelly/Colin Kelly Peter Fahey IRE Aidan Coleman
6 Capodanno (FR) 7-11-5 160 Mr JP McManus Willie Mullins IRE Danny Mullins
7 Delta Work (FR) 10-11-4 159 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE Keith Donoghue
8 Sam Brown (GB) 11-11-4 159 Mr TC Frost Anthony Honeyball Jonathan Burke
9 Lifetime Ambition (IRE) 8-11-3 158 Linda Mulcahy/Mary Wolridge Jessica Harrington IRE Sean O’Keeffe
10 Carefully Selected (IRE) 11-11-1 156 Miss MA Masterson Willie Mullins IRE Michael O’Sullivan
11 Coko Beach (FR) 8-11-0 155 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE Harry Cobden
12 Longhouse Poet (IRE) 9-11-0 155 Sean & Bernardine Mulryan Martin Brassil IRE JJ Slevin
13 Gaillard du Mesnil (FR) 7-11-0 155 Mrs J Donnelly Willie Mullins IRE Paul Townend
14 Darasso (FR) 10-10-13 154 Mr JP McManus Joseph O’Brien IRE LP Dempsey
15 Le Milos (GB) 8-10-11 152 The Jolly Good Partnership Dan Skelton Harry Skelton
16 Escaria Ten (FR) 9-10-10 151 McNeill Family Gordon Elliott IRE Adrian Heskin
17 The Big Breakaway (IRE) 8-10-10 151 Eric Jones, Geoff Nicholas, John Romans Joe Tizzard Brendan Powell
18 Cape Gentleman (IRE) 7-10-8 149 Mr Pierre Manigault John Hanlon IRE Jody McGarvey
19 Roi Mage (FR) 11-10-8 149 Pryde/Van Der Hoeven/McGladery/Beaumont Patrick Griffin IRE Felix De Giles
20 Diol Ker (FR) 9-10-8 149 Gigginstown House Stud Noel Meade IRE Kieren Buckley
21 A Wave of The Sea (IRE) 7-10-6 147 Mr JP McManus Joseph O’Brien IRE Shane Fitzgerald
22 Minella Trump (IRE) 9-10-6 147 Mr TG Leslie Donald McCain Theo Gilliard
23 Vanillier (FR) 8-10-6 147 Mrs HM Keaveney Gavin Cromwell IRE Sean Flanagan
24 Velvet Elvis (IRE) 7-10-6 147 Mr D Kierans Tom Gibney IRE Darragh O’Keeffe
25 Ain’t That A Shame (IRE) 9-10-5 146 Robcour Henry de Bromhead IRE Rachael Blackmore
26 Corach Rambler (IRE) 9-10-5 146 The Ramblers Lucinda Russell Derek Fox
27 Enjoy d’Allen (FR) 9-10-5 146 Mr JP McManus Ciaran Murphy IRE Simon Torrens
28 Mr Incredible (IRE) 7-10-4 145 Mr P Byrne Willie Mullins IRE Brian Hayes
29 Mister Coffey (FR) 8-10-4 145 Lady Bamford & Alice Bamford Nicky Henderson Nico De Boinville
30 Cloudy Glen (IRE) 10-10-4 145 Exors of the late Mr Trevor Hemmings Venetia Williams Charlie Deutsch
31 Hill Sixteen (GB) 10-10-2 143 J Fyffe & S Townshend Sandy Thomson Ryan Mania
32 Gabbys Cross (IRE) 8-10-2 143 Mr RS Brookhouse Henry de Bromhead IRE Peter Carberry
33 Recite A Prayer (IRE) 8-10-1 142 The Turner Family Willie Mullins IRE JB Foley
34 Eva’s Oskar (IRE) 9-10-1 142 Sally & Richard Prince Tim Vaughan Alan Johns
35 Our Power (IRE) 8-10-0 141 Walters Plant Hire & Potter Group Sam Thomas Sam Twiston-Davies
36 Dunboyne (IRE) 8-10-0 141 SP O’Connor Gordon Elliott IRE Jack Tudor
37 Francky du Berlais (FR) 10-10-0 141 Mr Roddy Owen Peter Bowen Ben Jones
38 Fortescue (GB) 9-9-13 140 Mrs L Nixon Henry Daly Hugh Nugent
39 Back On The Lash (GB) 9-9-13 140 Maughan, Redknapp, Ryan, Salters Martin Keighley Adam Wedge
40 Born By The Sea (IRE) 9-9-10 137 Natalie Gilligan Paul Gilligan IRE Phillip Enright

40 entries declared (27 Irish-trained)

Grand National betting:

Paddy Power odds (4.30pm April 13): 13-2 Corach Rambler, 8 Delta Work, Noble Yeats, 12 Gaillard Du Mesnil, Le Milos, 14 Any Second Now, Longhouse Poet, Mr Incredible, 16 Aint That A Shame, Capodanno, 20 Galvin, Our Power, The Big Dog, Vanillier, Velvet Elvis, 25 Carefully Selected, Lifetime Ambition, The Big Breakaway, 33 Back On The Lash, Coko Beach, Mister Coffey, 40 Dunboyne, Roi Mage, 50 Darasso, Eva’s Oscar, Fortescue, Fury Road, Gabbys Cross, Hill Sixteen, Minella Trump, 66 A Wave Of The Sea, Diol Ker, Enjoy D’Allen, Escaria Ten, Sam Brown, 80 Cloudy Glen, 100 Born By The Sea, Cape Gentleman, Francky Du Berlais, Recite A Prayer

Each Way: 1/5 Odds, 1,2,3,4,5,6 places

Read ‘Horse Talk with Simon Jackson’ for top horse racing tips and the latest news.